The Academy has a Strategic Operations Governing Body that  serves Coppice and Roundthorn Primary Academies, and a Local  Governing Body, specific to Coppice.

The key responsibilities of the governing body are to:

• Ensuring the quality of educational provision
• Evaluate pupil outcomes
• Challenge and monitor performance
• Take decisions about personnel management
• Manage financial, physical and human resources
• Raise concerns with the Chief Executive of the Focus-Trust in a timely manner

Roundthorn Governors are:

Mrs. Finney Swift (Focus-Trust Governor, Chair of Operations)
Mr. Kenneth Lees (Focus-Trust Governor, Chair of Teaching & Learning)
Mr. John Taylor (Executive Princpal)
Miss. Heather Biggs (Staff Governor)
Mr. David Kenneth Edwards (Focus-Trust Governor)
Mr. Stephen Schofield (Focus-Trust Governor)
Mr. Colin Noden (Focus-Trust Governor)
Mr. Andrew Hulmes (Head of Academy (Coppice)
Miss. Hannah Clegg (Staff Governor)
Ms. Nic Trevett (Focus-Trust Governor)

The Focus Trust Governance & Financial information can be found by clicking here

Focus Trust Governance Disclosure 2018-19

Coppice Primary Academy


Name of GovernorType of GovernorDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeConflict of Interest declared (Name of Company)Relationship to any member of staffMember of other educational institutionsNumber of meetings attended 2017 – 18 (out of possible)
Lisa NeedhamStaff01/09/2007n/a (Executive Principal)N.B. term ended 31/12/18 due to resignationNoneRoundthorn Primary Academy6/6
John TaylorStaff01/09/2013n/a (Head of Academy until 31/12/18, then Interim Executive Principal)NoneHusband of S Taylor (Roundthorn)None6/6
Patricia BeecroftCommunity03/03/20164 yearsNoneNoneNone6/6
Kenneth LeesCommunity1/9/20174 yearsNoneSon of cook-supervisor at Roundthorn Primary AcademyNone6/6
Heather BiggsStaff12/01/20174 yearsNoneNoneNone3/3
Finney SwiftCommunity01/09/20144 yearsNoneNoneNone6/6


David Kenneth EdwardsCommunity16/01/20174 yearsNoneHusband of L Edwards (Roundthorn)None2/2